NavyDEP

Go Back   NavyDEP > DEP & Bootcamp > Bootcamp > Pass In Review (Graduation)

Family Members join our new Facebook group sponsored by NavyDEP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Rtcgreatlakes

Old 07-19-2009, 09:15 AM   #1
emmy002

emmy002 is on a distinguished road
Default My PIR.

know that I'm not technically a sailor but I thought I would just let ya'll know how it feels from the other side.
The day before PIR was probably one of the longest days of my life. It felt like it was never going to end. The night before we had lots of color guard practice (I was one of the lucky ones chosen to be in the color guard) and then we had a color guard inspection, we basically put on our whites and were told what we needed to do to them to fix them. So thats what we did. I went to iron a part of my pants and the iron leaked oil all over the front of them. I truly thought my divo and color guard teacher were going to have heart attacks. Luckily one of the Petty Officers had a bleach pen that worked its magic on my pants and all was well. I got my uniform completly ironed and then it was time to pack. I really didnt care about where everything went and whether or not it was folded correctly so I just stuffed everything in my seabag. Then we hygened and got ready for bed. We braded eachothers hair, talked and got everyones number and e-mail address. Then it was taps. I don't think that anyone actually went to bed when the lights went out, (you can still see everything around you because there are red lights on so its never truly dark) I know I didn't some other females and I sat on top of two bunks and talked, I think it was about 8 of us on top of the two bunks. Finally I got tired and went back to my bunk to try and go to sleep, this was around 1 am.