NavyDEP

Go Back   NavyDEP > Ratings (Jobs) > Ratings (Jobs) ~ Seaman > Hospital Corpsmen G000, L500

Family Members join our new Facebook group sponsored by NavyDEP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Rtcgreatlakes

Old 01-28-2016, 03:07 PM   #1
Lesh

Lesh is on a distinguished road
Default Bachelor of Science in Nursing = Conflict of Interest?

A little background- I hold a bachelor's in nursing, and I am enlisting with the intention of going special warfare.

Should that not pan out, my contingency is HM (FMF, SARC, SOCM, what have you, I would like to serve at the front).

**I do fully understand that RN =/= HM and its corresponding implications**

But in talking with my recruiter yesterday, he told me that HM would not be available to me due to a conflict of interest (his words) and didn't really/was unable to elaborate any further. Is there any truth to this?

Just figured I'd verify this before accepting it as fact.

Thanks all.
Lesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 06:06 PM   #2
sweetmtn

sweetmtn will become famous soon enough

So you have your RN? Just understand that an HM is basically just a CNA... If you are already an RN, you "could" possibly go officer...

"Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude." Thomas Jefferson
sweetmtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 09:10 PM   #3
jzhaun
**Active Duty**

jzhaun has much to be proud ofjzhaun has much to be proud ofjzhaun has much to be proud ofjzhaun has much to be proud of

I'm not sure if this is what your recruiter mean, but there's no such thing as a "contingency" rating. If you earn a spec ops contract, you're spec ops. If you later wash out of training, the Navy will find you a new rating based on what's available at that time and no sooner.