NavyDEP

Go Back   NavyDEP > DEP & Bootcamp > Bootcamp

Family Members join our new Facebook group sponsored by NavyDEP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Rtcgreatlakes

Old 11-16-2015, 08:04 PM   #1
DPearson
**Active Duty**

DPearson is on a distinguished road
Default Something to Learn Before Shipping

Sorry if there is already a thread on this, but i didnt see one. As a recent bootcamp grad, I figure one thing that is easy to learn and pretty necessary in bootcamp is the basics for knot tying. You learn 3 knots while there, but knowing them ahead of time would be advantageous. The knots are the SQUARE knot, the CLOVE HITCH, and the BOWLINE. just google these knots with about 10 minutes of free time and a piece of rope about a foot and a half long and go at it. they are super easy.
DPearson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 08:49 PM   #2
LT Guppy

LT Guppy is a splendid one to beholdLT Guppy is a splendid one to beholdLT Guppy is a splendid one to behold

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPearson View Post
Sorry if there is already a thread on this, but i didnt see one. As a recent bootcamp grad, I figure one thing that is easy to learn and pretty necessary in bootcamp is the basics for knot tying. You learn 3 knots while there, but knowing them ahead of time would be advantageous. The knots are the SQUARE knot, the CLOVE HITCH, and the BOWLINE. just google these knots with about 10 minutes of free time and a piece of rope about a foot and a half long and go at it. they are super easy.
And don't pronounce it bow-line, it's bowlinn

Though, outside deck department, there isn't a whole lot of knot tying in the Navy these days...

ACTIVE DUTY SAILORS - Click here to have your account verified
LT Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 09:41 PM   #3
YN2(AW)Williams
**ActiveDuty**