NavyDEP

Go Back   NavyDEP > Ratings (Jobs) > Ratings (Jobs) ~ Seaman > Musician B660

Family Members join our new Facebook group sponsored by NavyDEP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Rtcgreatlakes

Old 06-02-2012, 10:36 PM   #1
mfwright

mfwright is on a distinguished road
Question MU-MUSICIAN ???

i am already depn in as AC but came across the MU rate. since im very musically inclined in multiple instruments, this option is appealing. how to get in? is it available at this time? what are the standards? any info out there??
mfwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 02:24 AM   #2
Laworlo

Laworlo is on a distinguished road

I have looked into as well since I am a singer/songwriter guitarist. The recruiters told me it's the hardest thing to get into in the Navy. Apparently there are some gnarly auditions for it and spots don't open very often. I actually got to see them open up for the band REO Speedwagon last summer. They are very good.
Laworlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:32 AM   #3
llamayamaa

llamayamaa is on a distinguished road

I just entered DEP and will be enlisting as an MU. Laworlo is correct, it's an incredibly difficult program to get into and it's very, very small. My recruiting office had never processed an MU before and while at MEPS, I was informed they hadn't processed an MU in years. I took an audition in March and was put on a waiting list (at this time I had no obligation to the Navy and was not required to take the ASVAB or go through MEPS). In June I was contacted and told there was a position for my instrument open. THEN I went through the enlistment process- my ship date is in December. My counselor at MEPS told me they only allow one female MU at boot camp per month (and one male, I would assume).

You can find more info here- http://www.public.navy.mil/bupers-np.../default1.aspx
llamayamaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:20 AM   #4
Soccer_cat

Soccer_cat is on a distinguished road